Children needing families

We are currently looking for loving, permanent homes for several children, some of whom are listed here. You can read more details about Michael, Christina, George, Jessica and James here.

If you would like to talk to us about offering a home to one of these children, please call us on 020 7520 2880 or 2881.

Michael - age 6 1/2


Michael is 6 years and 6 months old.  He has a lovely smile and a kind personality.  He is a tall slim healthy boy of dual white British, Caribbean heritage. Michael has been looked after by the local authority since he was born, but he needs a family where he can know that he belongs.

Michael has an autistic spectrum disorder and attends a special school where he is doing very well.  He has friends in school and relates well to adults.  He can be difficult at times but responds well to firm boundaries and re-direction to a new activity.  He can be controlling towards other children and needs a family with children older than he is.  He is happy to share but perhaps not his Thomas the Tank Engine toys which are his favourites.

Michael needs a permanent family.  Could this be you?

If you would like to hear more please contact  Marilyn on 020 7520 2881.

Christina - age nearly 2

ChristinaChristina is 2; she is a lively engaging little girl who has a big personality and a tremendous sense of fun. She needs a very special family who will enjoy providing her with a wide range of life enriching experiences and can accept a number of uncertainties in relation to her future health and development.

After spending her first few weeks in a Special Care Baby Unit, Christina lived with her mother before coming into care aged 4 months; sadly, Christina's mother died a few weeks later. Christina is an affectionate little girl who has a strong bond with her foster carer and is becoming a chatterbox.

Christina has a number of medical conditions. She was born with Dandy-Walker syndrome, although she is only mildly affected and has a small cyst at the base of her brain. The long term effects of this are unclear but it may account for significant delays in her Locomotor Skills - she is still not yet walking although she is adept at shuffling around on her bottom and can sit without support. Christina's mother and grandmother both had Marfan's syndrome (an inherited disorder of connective tissue characterised by excessive height, abnormally long and slender fingers and toes, heart defects and partial dislocation of the lenses of the eyes). There is a 50:50 chance that Christina could be similarly affected. Christina's heart is also placed abnormally and she only has one functioning lung. This means she can suffer from shortness of breath and is prone to chest infections, which could have serious long term consequences.

Christina loves listening to music and enjoys playing with musical toys. She likes books and enjoys being read to. She is starting to play with other children at nursery and particularly enjoys imaginative play. She is attached to her dolls who are very well cared for.

Financial support and a package of care will be explored with any potential family. Would you like to know more about Christina? If the answer is yes or even maybe please contact Kathy on 020 7520 2881.

George - age 2

George was born in March 2005. This is a picture of George who is looking for a family.He has lived with his current foster carers since he was three months old. His carers describe him as a lovely, placid and contented little boy. George is very expressive – he enjoys cuddles, music and noisy toys. He has a ready smile, a cheeky grin, an infectious laugh and can sing!

George has a complex medical condition called septo-optic dysphasia. This condition means that George's adrenalin glands do not respond normally in times of stress and his foster carers have to give him steroids three times a day. His development is generally that of a 6-9 month old. A lot of uncertainty remains about George's future development. George has a severe visual impairment. He can sit up supported for significant periods of time, but prefers to lie down because he can roll and explore his environment. George particularly enjoys his bath time and going swimming. He can make quite a splash!

George needs an active adoptive family who have the time and energy to help him reach his potential and manage both his medical needs and the uncertainty about his future. Financial support will be available.

Would you like to know more about George? If the answer is 'yes' or even 'maybe', please call Tamara Hallam on 020 7520 2881.

Jessica - age 8


Jessica is almost 8 years old and needs a very special family. Could it be you?

Jessica is a lively and intelligent little girl with bright blue eyes and beautiful auburn hair. She is of white British origin; her birth mother is from a travelling family. Since Jessica was placed into care three years ago, she has been looked after by the same foster carers.

Jessica has been diagnosed as being on the autistic spectrum and attends a school for children with special needs. Her verbal communication is limited but, with the support from her carers and the school, Jessica is making steady progress. Her academic performance and social skills are also improving steadily. Jessica is very good on the computer and has a fascination with books. She enjoys singing and watching children's DVDs. Jessica is affectionate towards adults and especially enjoys one-to-one attention; she does not manage too well in a group setting. Jessica enjoys the outdoors but also adapts very well to a calm and structured environment.

She needs a one or two parent family; preferably where she is the youngest child in the household. Jessica has made significant progress in her current placement and needs a special family who will be able to build on her development so she can reach her full potential.

Would you like to know more about Jessica? If the answer is 'yes' or even 'maybe', please contact Christabel on 020 7520 2881.

James - age 3

Photo of JamesJames (not his real name) is 3 years old and his parents are African Caribbean; he is full of energy and has a great personality. He needs a very special family who have time, enthusiasm and a wealth of energy for him, now and in the future. He needs a family who will delight in providing him with a vast range of opportunities and positive life experiences, whilst working with some unknowns in relation to his future development.

James lived with his mother prior to coming into care aged 4 months. James‘ mother has a history of substance misuse and may have taken drugs during pregnancy. James has been diagnosed as being on the Autistic Spectrum and has limited communication skills. James is supported by a number of professionals in relation to his on-going development.

James has a positive attachment, having spent most of his early life with his foster carer. James has prospered from this emotional stability and will need time to get to know new people and routines in his life. James’ foster carer says he has made considerable progress over the last nine months.

James likes the carer to sing songs. He generally sleeps well through the night and is awake for 12 to 13 hours a day.

Ideally, we are looking for an African Caribbean family, although consideration will be given to a dual heritage family.

Financial support and other support needs will be explored further, with any potential family. If you would like to know more about James please contact Jane on 020 7520 2881.